Fan Art And The 2009 Al-fan Gathering

Here you can show your graphics skills or any program made of Weird Al.

Moderator: Moderators

Diva
Addicted

Post by Diva »

Hey folks!
I wasn't in the Army and never heeded the advice "never volunteer for anything", so I volunteered to do a couple of things for the summer 2009 gathering in southern California that Vikki [like I'm 27 again] is organizing this August. I will have a "make it and take it" table for people to make and complete small projects, all supplies there. Full discussion of that can be found over on the convention thread under General Chat. I have two specific requests that I wanted to put out to the Fan Art folks in particular, though:

1. Kristine suggested coloring book pages be available for young kids there, along with crayons etc. I thought that was a truly inspired idea. Now I'm a sculptor and mixed-media artist primarily and can't draw my way out of a paper bag so I need help here. Would any of you who do draw well [Aron, Gianna, et. al.] be interested in doing some outline-type drawings that would work as coloring pages for kids? [The drawings need to have lines so that kids who were like me can be rebelllious and not stay in the lines. :lol: ]

2. There will be a gallery and exhibition of fan art. The details of that exhibition aren't together yet. A lot will depend on where the gathering takes place. Some venues would work well for some types of art but not others, especially more delicate pieces. The transport/shipping back and forth for those not attending in person isn't yet worked out either.

Fan art is a big way that people can be present and connected this summer even if not physically present at the gathering. This aspect of the convention could be truly amazing and span the globe. I'm jazzed.

Cheers, Diva
feel free to PM me also
Wharf Hamster since September 25, 2002
piranha
Addicted

Post by piranha »

I'm sure you meant Ghia, not me. My art isn't nearly as good as theirs.