Al in a computer app??

Here you can show your graphics skills or any program made of Weird Al.

Moderator: Moderators

Weird Dane

Al in a computer app??

Post by Weird Dane »

Hi fellow Al fans,

I've just joined this forum. Great place! The situation is, that I'm a computer application developer (or programmer, whatever). And I thought that I could, as my humble tribute to Al, include him in my latest project. It's an instant messenger like MSN. In this app there is a screen where you can change your nickname, and I thought that when people write "weird al" or "yankovic" a small picture of Al could pop up. :biggrin: But I don't want to infrige with his copyrights. Do you think it will be ok if I grab a picture from his site and included it? (I've made some screenshots. Notice what's written in the textbox)

Best regards,

Martin Wiboe

haroldwaide
Regular

Post by haroldwaide »

If Al or his management team gave you the ok then I'd definitely agree with it. However, without that you're infringing on a bunch of legal terms that lawyers like to throw around to look intelligent.

Harold
scottidog
Silver Suit Afficianado

Re: Al in a computer app??

Post by scottidog »

Do you think it will be ok if I grab a picture from his site and included it?

I'd contact Bermuda and ask for permission. I'm guessing the answer will be no, but perhaps not.

Welcome aboard.

I'm moving this to Polls and Games.
Weird Dane

Re: Al in a computer app??

Post by Weird Dane »

Do you think it will be ok if I grab a picture from his site and included it?
I'd contact Bermuda and ask for permission. I'm guessing the answer will be no, but perhaps not.

Welcome aboard.

I'm moving this to Polls and Games.

Thank you! Nice being here, this forum is great!

Best regards,

Martin Wiboe

Edit: Btw. I can mention weirdal.com and a copyright notice in the app if you want me to?
alexina
Addicted

Post by alexina »

Hmmm.