YA Book Series Inspired by Al's music

Here you can show your graphics skills or any program made of Weird Al.

Moderator: Moderators

grissomisms
Occasional

YA Book Series Inspired by Al's music

Post by grissomisms »

I'm starting this kind of as a challenge to myself but I've also wanted to contribute something cool to Al's fandom and, since I'm a writer, I thought doing a young adult series inspired by his music would probably be the way I could do that. So far I have three titles picked out and I'm going to be writing the first one for NaNoWriMo. The first one's called Albuquerque and is gonna kind of revolve around the main character's parents getting divorced and the main character and their father moving to Albuquerque where the main character falls in love and has a bunch of weird unfortunate events happen. I'm going to draw mostly from Al's work between 1990 and 2000 for this one. The second one will be more inspired by the music from the 1980s and the third from the 2000s. And eventually a fourth inspired by the 2010s.
Anyone got any references they'd like to see or any guidance to offer in such an endeavor?
anthontherun
Be jealous.

Re: YA Book Series Inspired by Al's music

Post by anthontherun »

This is a cool idea! I've never really attempted a project like this, so I can't give any advice from that standpoint, but as someone who would definitely read something like this, I would suggest going light on the references and using the songs more as springboards. A little inside "wink, wink" joke now and then is good, but you don't want to shoehorn a token "Amish Paradise" reference if it doesn't serve the story.